All about the Chakras

I’m having a chakra moment right now  I’ve always been interested in the Chakras, but never dedicated the time to reallllly dig deep and learn about them… About 6 months ago that changed when I hit a low point in my life that I just COULD NOT bounce back from. I was overwhelmed, broke, exhausted, anxious and lost, I could feel my grip on everything slipping. I called one of my closest friends, a true Lightworker, and over lots of tea (and maybe a little wine) she helped me face the darkness in my life, and opened my eyes to how integral the chakras are to our health.  

This isn’t a Disney movie though, I was not magically transformed into a balanced and spiritually aligned Princess after a visit from my Chakra Fairy Godmother.  After she left, I immersed myself in research, applying everything I had learned, seeing what worked for me, what didn’t, travelling, taking new classes, talking to anyone who would listen, always working towards aligning my chakras. This is going to be one of my life’s great challenges, constantly learning, growing, shifting, shedding… but oh so worth it.   

The seven main chakras are the sensors in our body that absorb and emit energy. They are connected to large networks of nerves and organs in our body, and influence our physical and spiritual health. It’s so important to keep them clear, aligned and fluid, as everything in our bodies is always moving. When our Chakras are blocked, it can create a physical and/or emotional unbalance. Think of it this way, if your sink is clogged, nothing will drain, the water will back up, become stagnant and grow mold. This is similar to the way energy flows within our bodies, and the chakras are the drains that must be kept clear for the body to stay healthy.

Below is a breakdown of the 7 Chakras, and how they relate to our energetic self. 

The Asset 2Root Chakra, also called Muladhara, is connected to the Earth element.  It represents our foundation in this world, and is connected to our feelings of groundedness and security. It is located at the base of the chakra system, and lays the foundation for expansion and growth in life. When the Root Chakra is in balance we feel empowered, confident, calm and centered.

Color : Red
Location : The Base of your spine to just below the belly button
Gemstone : Fuchsia Agate
Signs of a blockage : Survival needs not feeling met, heavy financial burdens, uncomfortable relationship with food

Asset 3The Sacral Chakra, or Svadhisthana is connected to the Water Element.  It is connected to our pleasure sensors, emotional body and our creativity. It is the center of our feelings and emotions, and controls our sense of connection and our flexibility. It symbolizes our openness to others and relationships, and when it is in balance  we feel compassionate, intuitive and stable.

Color : Orange
Location : Right below the belly button to it’s center
Gemstone : Carnelian
Signs of a blockage :  Physical pleasure, feelings of numbness or being stuck, co-dependancy

Asset 4The Solar Plexus Chakra, or Manipura is connected to the Fire element. It is the center for personal strength, growth and understanding. It is the place where our “gut instincts” come from, those signals from the universe that appear when asked for guidance. It is wonderful for providing clarity, independance and will power.  When it is in balance we feel wise, decisive and strong

Color :
Location : Belly Button to the breast bone
Gemstone : Citrine
Signs of a blockage : Low self-esteem and self-worth, no will power, loss of control

Asset 5The Heart Chakra, known as Anahata in Sanskrit, is connected to the Air Element. It is located right in the center of the body and balances the world of matter and spirit. It is the love center of the human energy system where joy, happiness and compassion radiate from. It affects our ability to forgive, accept that which we cannot change, grieve and find peace. When the Heart Chakra is balanced, we will be able to easily give and receive love, and makes us more self aware.

Color : Green
Location : Right over your heart
Gemstone : Green Aventurine
Signs of a blockage : Inability to feel joy or experience the different forms of love, inability to forgive or find peace

Asset 6 The Throat Chakra, or Vishudda (meaning pure), is connected to the element of sound. It is the communication center of our bodies, as the throat sends sound vibrations out into the world which are felt through our whole bodies.  When the Throat Chakra is open and balanced we find it easier to express ourselves creatively and artistically. It becomes easier to vocalize our deepest wants, and realize our purpose on this earth.

Color : Blue
Location : Throat
Gemstone : Turquoise
Signs of a blockage : Poor communication skills, inability to express ourselves, weak connection with the Spirit

Asset 7The Third Eye Chakra, or Ajna, is connected to the Supreme element, which is a combination of all the elements in their purest forms.  The third eye transcends the physical world moving into the world of more subtle energies, and is closely aligned with the realm of spirits. It channels our intuition, wisdom and psychic power. It opens up the mind to things beyond the material world, and helps us see situations with a clear perspective.  When it is in balance, well feel a stronger connection to the physical and spiritual world.

Color : Indigo
Location : Between the eyebrows
Gemstone : Lapis Lazuli
Signs of a blockage : Poor decision making skills and imagination.  Feeling like your intuition is failing you.

Asset 8The Crown Chakra, or Sahasrara, is energetically connected to the Root Chakra, as they are at the extremities of the chakra system. It is the connection to the Universe, and it disperses energy from the Universe into the 6 Chakras below.  It represents our ability to be fully and strongly connected to our spirituality, feelings of bliss and our higher consciousness. It can make the impossible seem a reality, and provides complete clarity. A balanced Crown Chakra invokes a feeling of spiritual ecstasy, as though we have transcended our personal limitations.

Color : Violet
Location : Top of the head
Gemstone : Amethyst
Signs of a Blockage : Disconnected to your spiritual self, close mindedness.

If you’re feeling like something (or a lot of somethings) in your life just isn’t working, it’s probably your chakras, and I promise you can do something about this!  Meditation, yoga, reiki, massage, or a visit from your own Lightworker Fairy Godmother is a great place to start on this long and winding path.